Have you met Nathan Yungerberg?

BLACKBOARD: Tell us a little but about yourself and why you write….
NATHAN: I moved to NYC from Minneapolis 7 years ago. I have been a professional photographer for 21 years. Four years ago I decided I needed to find a more expansive, animated way to express my creative visions. Writing enables me to manifest the never ending flow of stories that dance around in my head.

BLACKBOARD: Why did you write this play?
NATHAN: The inspiration for this play was an African American expat I met my first trip to Salvador Brazil in 2002. She had been living there for around 15 years, long before mass tourism began. She considered herself a gate-keeper of sorts and felt it was her mission to protect the cultural purity of Salvador. She made a lot of judgmental statements about tourists and their reasons for traveling to Bahia. It made me reflect on my own journey there and I was curious and intrigued about what drew her to Salvador and what she was seeking and did she find it?

BLACKBOARD: How did you find Blackboard?
NATHAN: I was referred by two friends: producer Daryl Sledge and playwright Shaun Neblett.

BLACKBOARD: What is important to you about a community of black writers?
NATHAN: It’s obvious that we are underrepresented in the theater world and it is important to create a community where we can share our stories, network and build together. I have found nothing but love and support in the black theater community in NYC.

BLACKBOARD: How do you want people to feel after they have heard this play?
NATHAN: I want people to feel hopeful. I want people to feel thankful for the kindred spirits they cross paths with in their lifetime. I want people to look at their own lives and identify the people and places that enable them to achieve a stronger sense of self and home.

Aug 31st UPDATE: Nathan wrote outside of The Drama Book Shop this week in a great “happening” called “Write out Front”! Check out what he had to say on the TheatreSpeak BlogSpot!

About blackboardplays

Familiar with the collectives for poets and other Black writers that had been created over the years and slightly envious of that sense of community, I became curious about a similar place for playwrights. I wanted to see Black playwrights, actors and directors excited over each others work and supporting each other. I was longing for a “home” as a Black playwright and wanted to see other Black artists in that home, not to be exclusive, but because there was a void. I was also eager to find other Black playwrights who shared a passion for the craft of storytelling. The stories of the Black community are diverse and are often hidden behind the blockbuster stereotyped versions. The non-artistic Black community, not involved in the writing of these stories, is yearning to see themselves in our stories and it is apart of my life’s work to ensure that happens. the cell is any artists’ dream: a new space that supports you as you grow, committed to new work and the art. This allows the writer to focus on the craft - to focus on their story. Nancy Manocherian and Kira Simring welcomed this idea with open arms and instantly became apart of what we later called “Blackboard Reading Series”. Every reading will conclude a twenty minute talk-back with the audience. Dialogue with the community is essential to what we want to do with the series. As we grow, there may be more readings a month, play festivals and of course productions. We want to nurture and develop new black playwrights for this generation! Thank You! Garlia Cornelia Jones Founder, Blackboard Reading Series
Gallery | This entry was posted in Playwrights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you met Nathan Yungerberg?

  1. Pingback: Jerome Parker – Livestream Shoutout! | Playwright Conversations

Leave a Reply

